I spent the month of September in the beautiful city of Miami Beach Florida attending school for the CELTA certification. You may read more about that here. One Saturday I found myself consumed by textbooks but yet mentally withdrawn from them. Realizing that even the human mind needs a break I took one and hopped on the South Beach Local. Destination…The Holocaust Memorial Miami Beach.

 

First I must tell you that the pictures (courtesy of my iPhone) does not do this place justice. If you plan on visiting sometime, please take a friend with you. You’ll need someone for emotional support. The place is overwhelming. There is a sacred, yet dark and heavy air that envelops it. It took a prayer to get me through the entire site.

 

What I saw was six million souls of the Holocaust seeking refuge in the hand of God. Here are some of the photos that I captured.

 

 

CLSMITHCLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH CLSMITH

 

 

How can we EVER forget?